Posted by: Moses | December 30, 2006

A New Law

Don’t teach me about politics and government;
just tell me who to vote for.
Don’t teach me about truth and beauty;
just label my music.
Don’t teach me how to live like a free man;
just give me a new law.

I don’t wanna know if the answers aren’t easy,
so just bring it down from the mountain to me.
I want a new law.
I want a new law!
Just gimme that new law.

Don’t teach me about moderation and liberty;
I prefer a shot of grape juice.
Don’t teach me about loving my enemies.
Don’t teach me how to listen to the Spirit.
Just give me a new law.

What’s the use in trading a law you can never keep,
for one you can that cannot get you anything?
Do not be afraid.
Do not be afraid.
Do not be afraid.

By Derek Webb: this is one of those dratted “teaching and admonishing” songs. Don’t listen to this if your conscience is weak regarding a pronounced beat in music. His analysis that fear is the reason why we impose our new laws: quite poignant and rebuking to me. Feel free to download it if you like; Derek provides it for free on his web-site.

A New Law

Responses

  1. have you seen the video for this?

  2. Yep, you showed it to me. It’s interesting; the song alone gets me every time though.


Leave a Reply

Categories

