Posted by: Moses | February 21, 2007

Self-centered Consistency

“One person’s love for another is not based solely on an expected return. Nonetheless, that expectation is a part of the relationship. If a person never receives any affection or gratitude for the love offered, his or her feelings of love will probably diminish.” -David Popenoe

Unfortunately, I believe that this observation is usually true. Many times I find myself weighing what I will receive against the cost of serving someone else. If I do not receive thanks I feel chagrined, and if the receiver never reciprocates I tend to get frustrated. Naturally, man is only interested in advancing himself, so he leverages everyone around him to push himself up. Our God, “because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ… so that he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus.” God’s love seems similar at first, but it starkly contrasts with my sorry excuse for love because His love strives to exalt what is truly worthy. God loved us in our despicable state in order to put a part of his character on display for all to see. Both human and divine loves seek to exalt the lover, yet one is sin and one is glorious grace. Though seemingly dichotomous, both are ultimately held to the same standard: everything that exists should bring glory to God. When I love selfishly I fail this mandate and idolize myself; however, if God were to not act for His own glory He would be duplicitous, failing to praise what is truly worthy. Though my love may falter based on whether or not my self-centered exchanges are a net-gain, God’s love will never falter. His sufficiency is rooted in himself, and He will not forsake His own trustworthy name.

Leave a Reply

Categories

