Posted by: molly | June 21, 2008

Condemned Hatred

I John 3:11-15
11 For this is the message that you have heard from the beginning, that we should love one another. 12 We should not be like Cain, who was of the evil one and murdered his brother. And why did he murder him? Because his own deeds were evil and his brother’s righteous. 13 Do not be surprised, brothers, that the world hates you. 14 We know that we have passed out of death into life, because we love the brothers. Whoever does not love abides in death. 15 Everyone who hates his brother is a murderer, and you know that no murderer has eternal life abiding in him.

God is love. Therefore, those who are in Christ are to be loving. But what is love? Can we really pin down a definition of a concept so broad that it describes part of the very essence of God? We do have however, several descriptions of what love is. In the same way, we see examples of the antithesis of love: hate. Hate is not merely a negative action. It is the absence of love. That which is not love is hate. You cannot love and yet not hate someone. You must do one or the other.

Then, since I do not always love, I too must hate. And since I hate, I am a murderer. And since I am a murderer I have not eternal life abiding in me. Wait! Does this mean that by my un-love I cannot be in Christ? Or is it just that I must have more love than hate in order to not be condemned? Does the measure of my love become a litmus test to Christ’s work in my life? My heart leaps up to condemn me for how often do I hate? Does this mean that I might not be saved because I do hateful things?

NO! My heart longs to condemn me but this should not condemn my heart but drive me to repentance. That should be the result of seeing my hate. The very fact that I can love–regardless of the fact that I at times in my sin am not loving–reveals that I am a child of God. How sadly my mind follows this wrong thinking of my God, waiting to crush me under a load of my condemnation. He has already used my condemnation. He used it to crush his own Son. God is not lording over me, trying to convince me that I am condemned. He already took my curse.

Last night at Bible study I was listening to someone share this passage with me. I was confronted with my sin but my heart did not have to condemn me. Instead, I was pulled to a place of repentance. This is where my heart should go. I do not need to doubt and despair. I need to bow and repent before my holy, loving Daddy. It was a beautiful lesson to me. The Spirit joyed my heart with my sin last night because I know it does not condemn me any longer. My hatred has already been condemned. It has been crushed. It has been redeemed.

Responses

  1. Thank you so much for sharing honey. Praise God that when our hearts condemn us, he is greater than our hearts. Praise our God who “grants repentance” to change the lives of his beloved children.


Leave a Reply

Categories

