Posted by: Moses | June 24, 2008

Thoughts on 1 John 4

June 9, 2008

v. 6: We are from God. Whoever knows God listens to us; whoever is not from God does not listen to us. By this we know the Spirit of truth and the spirit of error.

Through the gentle rebuke of a friend I’ve recently noticed how often I debase my time with the Lord in the morning to mere academia. Knowing truth about God is good, only surpassed (with an infinite margin) by knowing God, by beholding Him face to face and being transformed. I have often applied this verse to discerning true prophecy, true teachers etc. That’s the obvious, academic and exegetical interpretation. Do they agree with apostolic authority or not? Case closed. “Whoever knows God listens to us; whoever is not from God does not listen to us.”

How often do I refuse to listen to the Apostles? To God as He speaks through them? How often do I profess Christ with my academic lips and deny Him with my lack of obedience? How often do I willingly yield my freedom in Christ to live under fleshly slavery? How often do I prove my divided being, still tied to mortality and needing to fight my sin to death? How often do I fail to live in the power of the same Spirit that resurrected Christ’s body from the tomb and has the power to master my mortal flesh? My life demands repentance.

Here I beheld my God. Demanding perfection, my Holy God is not satisfied with Academia. Here I see my own inadequacy clearly in my own life. Here I see that I am in need of a Savior to transform me in His presence. My dependence is exposed. Praise God for kindly reminding His children of their need; praise Him for all His lovingly immanent manifestations of His transcendence in His Word. Praise God that he kindly gives the gift of repentance to His needy children.

Leave a Reply

Categories

