Posted by: Moses | May 14, 2010

No One Can Make Us Sin: Winstons, Speeding, Scholarships, and God’s Kindness

All the time I spent developing a justification for speeding finally paid off. (It’s an intricate argument involving the separation of powers if you are ever interested.) We left for Winston-Salem a half an hour late. I arrived shook hands with my scholarship interviewer only two minutes late. Now punctuality is not my strong suit, but our slight tardiness was nothing short of a miracle through ordinary, if slightly speedy means. Praise God!

Let me explain. I had planned to leave for Winston an hour early. Me, the punctuality challenged! An hour early!

One of my shoes was missing.

One of my only pair of black shoes was missing. I ended up running out the door with Molly in tow wearing a nice black suit and flip flops to borrow some too-small, pinchy, black shoes from my brother in law. I’m going to go barefoot for a week.

But we were okay! We had left an hour early. I had checked Google earlier in the week to plan the trip. However, our hearts sank as we entered the destination address into the GPS and realized that I had remembered the ETA from Google/Maps incorrectly. Threes are not twos, silly Moses. We went instantly from having a half hour cushion and a stop at Chic-Fil-A for lunch to having a half hour taken from the sinking pits of our stomachs as a pound of flesh.

After the initial shock, the Lord was very kind to lead our hearts away from temptation. We struggled a bit initially, actually a lot initially. But after an eyes-open prayer meeting on I-85 (yes, that still counts) our troubles were well on their way back into the hands of God where they belong. David Crowder’s song “Shadows” came up on our playlist next. The remnants of the weight of my mistakes and our subsequent fearful frenzy were subsiding as we sang out,

When shadows fall on us,

We will not fear; we will remember.

When darkness falls on us,

We will not fear; we will remember.

When all seems lost,

When we’re thrown and we’re tossed,

We’ll remember the cost.

We’re resting in the shadow of the cross.

I screwed up and caused a great deal of anxiety for Molly and myself. Such is life in our fallen world. The Lord brought a profound truth to my mind in the midst of the struggle: no one and no thing can ever make us sin. Our response is always our responsibility. No matter what the circumstances, the almighty power of the Spirit of God is within us to preserve us, to lead us into joy and peace for the glory of God. No matter what we can rest in the providence of God, knowing beyond the shadow of a doubt that He is working it all for His glory. God has prepared good works for us to walk in from before the foundation of the earth. In context, this kind of joy in trial is exactly what Paul is referring to when he says, “I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.” God’s providence is very mysterious at times, very difficult to rejoice for in the shadows. How kind is His mystery as He teaches us to rest. Even as we bleat at the dark valleys ahead, He makes us lie down in green pastures.

I think that the scholarship interview went well.

Responses

  1. I’m so glad that it went well and that you made it safely.


Leave a Reply

Categories

