Posted by: Moses | March 21, 2011

Lamentations: Waiting in the Dark

Sermon 2 of 6. Waiting in the Dark. Click the link to hear the sermon; sorry about the sound quality. We had some tech difficulties and ended up recording on my internal mic.

Sunday night we talked about “waiting in the darkness,” or what some writers call “the dark night of the soul.” Sometimes in our Christian life what we know about God and what we feel about God disconnect. Jeremiah wrote about such a time in Lamentations two, walking through all that he was suffering and clinging to the truth of God’s rule. There is no “turn,” no hope in the Lord in the passage, just angst and a knowledge of who God is as ruler. In dark times it is very easy to feel accused by the law and rejected by God, as though he did not care for His children any longer. The solution in these times is not to run away from such accusations but to run straight toward them and embrace them as who we were before Jesus redeemed us, knowing that Jesus answers them perfectly in the cross. In the words of Shane & Shane, “The Devil’s singing over us an age old song, that we are cursed and gone astray, singing the first verse so conveniently, over me, he’s forgotten the refrain: Jesus Saves!” This is true whether we feel like it or not. In the dark times when hope seems lost, we cling to what we know and we hold on for dear life. This makes God look great by displaying that no one else will do, only God can satisfy. Only God is the Lord of the heart, and we bring Him glory when we wait on Him in the dark night of the soul.

“Rejoice not over me, O my enemy; when I fall, I shall rise; when I sit in darkness, the LORD will be a light to me. I will bear the indignation of the LORD because I have sinned against him, until he pleads my cause and executes judgment for me. He will bring me out to the light; I shall look upon his vindication.” (Mic 7:8–9 ESV)

Leave a Reply

Categories

