Posted by: molly | May 13, 2011

Giving God Your Blender

My first experience with the family blender came in early high school.  Inspired by a tempting, shiny photo on a recipe card, I tried to make “watermelon ice.”  It seemed so simple:  throw watermelon and ice into a blender, blend, and make this amazing looking watermelon sorbet.  (Might I add the picture was not really true to life).  I approached my mother about our need for a blender, since in the first 15 or so years of my life I had never encountered one.  I was shocked to hear my mother’s response.  We not only had a blender but it was “new.”  Let me have an aside here to define “new.”   It was 70s brown and didn’t even have a polarized plug.  In this case “new” simply meant never used.  I tried it.  The noise was frightening and it smelled funny.  After this encounter and a few failed attempts at smoothies that were not glopy or milkshakes that didn’t taste mostly like milk,  the blender sliped back into the dark crevices of the cabinet only to be seen when moving.

My mother-in-law has an industrial grade blender.  My father-in-law is quite excited about the fact that you can actually blend car parts in it (he saw a demonstation).  The blender is not only functional–it actually lives on the counter. They use it almost daily to make smoothies and whatever else you make in a blender.  When I started to date my husband I was intrigued by this machine.  I didn’t actually know people used blenders.

My world of kitchen appliances was again rocked by his family when I saw his sister making toast.  This should not have surprised me.  I have made loaves upon loaves of toast in my life.  My grandfather was from England and was very serious about his toast.  Since toast lying on a plate gets soggy (didn’t know that, did you) he insisted on using his toast rack (think dish rack filled with upright pieces of toast) on a daily basis.  Toast was a big thing in our family.  Growing up we had a toaster capable of making 4+ pieces of toast at a time.  I thought I was an expert on toast until I saw my soon to be sister-in-law making toast in the oven.  In middle school I was approached with the idea that one could theoretically make toast in the oven.  However, I thought this was a practice from the early pioneer days that people periodically attempted to feel historic.  I did not realize that was still a common practice in the world today.  It turns out that my in-laws didn’t even have a toaster.  It had broken twenty some-odd years earlier and they had never bothered to replace it.

When my husband and I were getting married we found ourselves registering for wedding gifts.  Moses insisted we needed a blender.  I insisted we needed a toaster.  At my wedding shower two of my three sisters showed up with matching toasters.  When space in our new condo dictated we only keep one of the two appliances I easily gave up my blender, closely guarding (and often using) my toaster.

The other day I was reflecting on my superior spirituality when it came to kitchen gadgets.  You see, I have limited the amount of kitchen things I own, meaning that I am living in a greater state of poverty for the Kingdom–I don’t even own a blender!  As I was thinking my self-righteous thoughts, however, the Spirit kindly stopped me from reveling in my thinly veiled pride.  I gave God my blender, not my toaster.  If I owned a blender I wouldn’t know what to do with it.  I gave God something that I didn’t really care about, seeking to appease him as I sat clinging to the things I deemed more important.  My toaster was not wrong.  My heart was as I sought to bring honor to myself by giving God a blemished offering like I so often do in so many areas of life.

I still own my toaster and don’t really plan on getting rid it unless God makes it quite clear to me, since  toasters are great and I still don’t like blenders.  But now I see that God isn’t really interested in my blender or my toaster.   He is interested in my self-righteous heart.  Perhaps I should take the the toaster from before my own eyes before helping my brother with his blender.

Responses

  1. I love reading your stuff Molly. I went through a similar thing with kitchen gadgets . . . only with a food chopper 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

