Posted by: molly | January 30, 2013

The Chain Letter Post: Some Things About Me

When I was a child I remember my oldest sister getting a chain letter in the mail from one of her friends.  It was a genuine article, pre-email, postage stamp requiring chain letter that threatened some kind of unthinkable terror to be unleashed on her pre-teen soul if she broke the chain.  I’m not sure if it was my mom’s desire to squash the superstition or if she was unwilling to fork over 15 postage stamps, but I remember her explaining to my sister that chain letters are a bad joke that trap people by fear.

Not sure what the point of chain letters were in the first place (or their replacement send-this-to-15-people-or-you-don’t-love-Jesus chain emails) but this seems to be a good evolution.  So, I will willingly post this getting to know you post from my friend Susanna.  Hey, it even sounds like fun and she didn’t threaten me.  But don’t worry friends–I don’t mind bending the chain letter post rules–since I don’t have that many bloggy friends and I will call down no curses on you if you never respond.

First, I am to tell you 11 random facts about myself:

1.  I have 4 names–1 first name, 2 middle names, and a last name.  I added the second middle name when I got married.  That makes me cool.  It also made my initials cooler since it changed from MEN (awkward!) to MEZN (super cool).

2.  My husband has 4 names.  And so does my youngest son.  And when we finally get to adopt our other two kids we are planning to add a middle name so they have 4 names too. That will make us all really cool.

3.  I had a baby in August.  He weighed 11 lbs. 3.5 oz.   And yes, I had a c-section.

4.  With said baby we never found out if we were having a boy or a girl until he came.  We even had an envelope at our house with the ultrasound picture complete with gender.  A couple of our friends nearly went insane on our behalf but we had fun.

5.  I like black coffee.  I also like coffee with way to much creamer in it.  I am easy to please in the coffee department.

6.  Currently living at hotel Nickerson is the following:  my husband and I, our 3 kids, my older sister, a guy in seminary who lives in our library, 3 dogs, and a fish (the fish isn’t mine–he belongs to the guy who lives in the library).  We have a rather full house and I love it.

7.  One of those dogs living in our house is a crippled poodle name Marzipan.  Her back legs don’t work so she walks on the front ones.  She is totally awesome and mind-numbingly adorable.  The other dogs are Friend (I named him) and Thymisticles (my husband named him…).

8.  I have been to (or at least driven through) every East Coast state except for Maine.

9.  I love sci-fi.  Love it!

10.  My mother taught me when I was growing up that cake is sometimes a breakfast food.  I plan to pass down this life lesson to my children.

11.  I believe in the Oxford comma.

 

Next, I am supposed to answers the following questions:

{1} Are you a reader? If so, when did your love for reading begin and with what book? 

I used to be a reader.  I used to read all the time but then I sort of stopped.  I still enjoy reading but it is now normally done only when I manage to hide in the bathroom when my kids don’t search for me.

{2} What is your favorite landscape? Sea, mountains, beach, city? 

My husband and I would love to church plant in a city and I have fallen in love with cities.  We have also talked about buying a mountain and building a home on the very top.   However, I think I could manage living on the English coast or on a beach front.

{3} What is your favorite way to travel? Plane, car, bus, boat, train, bike, by foot? 

I have only ever flown once and I had swimmers ear at the time.  That wasn’t super fun.  I have never really travelled by bus, boat, or train.  Out of car, bike, or foot I guess it would depend on the distance.  I would rather not ride my bike or walk  50+ miles.  Walking or riding to Walgreens down the street–that sounds more my style.

{4} What is your favorite app and why? 

I really like this app called Epicurious.  It was a sweet gift from my husband who likes to buy me technology.  It gives you hundreds of recipes that you can search for by ingredient, meal type, or name.  I don’t actually follow recipes (you can ask Susanna about this) but it has nice pictures that I try to replicate.

{5} What is the one home-cooked meal you turn to when you’re under time pressure? 

I make a mean pasta sauce from a can.  You can just throw in some extra stuff like wine and canned chicken and whatever spices you find on your counter.  It can be made when you are informed that company is coming in 30 minutes or less and you can feed a small army with a couple of boxes of pasta.  It is nothing fancy but I find that having easy food helps me not be totally freaked out when my husband invites 14 people to lunch after church…

{6} What is the one thing in your home that must be organized for your sanity? 

Friend, if my house had to be organized for the sake of my sanity than my sanity boat sailed a long time ago!  I am working on organizing things at my home though nothing really eats at my soul in particular.  I guess if anything I like to have my bed made and my curtains open.  Somehow a room littered with clutter seems a little less chaotic with a made bed and a bit of sunlight.

{7} If you could learn any language what would it be and why? 

Koine Greek because my husband thinks that is sexy.  🙂

{8} What is the one skill you hope to perfect? 

I would really like to be a great seamstress one day.  I love sewing but I don’t really want to subject myself or my children to the awful, homely clothing offered up in so many sewing books.  My goal is to be able to sew stuff so well that you can’t tell I made it.

{9} Describe your fashion style in three words {e.g. vintage. neutral. soft}.

Clean (like gone through the laundry clean), washable (since most of clothes are usually in the laundry), and um, clean (that is the major factor in deciding what to wear these days).

{10} Are you a morning person, night owl, nap enthusiast, or a survivor with alternating routines? 

I can’t decide these days.  I guess a survivor right now.

{11} Fess up. Are you a Downton Abbey fan. If so, what’s your reason for watching?

I watched through Seasons 1 and 2 in a matter of a few weeks.  It is totally a British soap opera which reminds me of my family.  I never understood novellas full of loud, passionate, people.  However, since I grew up with my English/Irish grandparents the characters and their lack of straightforwardness makes total sense to me.

 

Finally, I am supposed to ask some questions to other blogger to keep the chain alive to other bloggers.  These are my questions for the following blogs:

Pumpkins Don’t Have Ankles

seemingly random

Anyone else who would like to link here!

1.  Do you believe in the Oxford comma?

2.  If you had to paint everything in your house one color, what color would it be?

3.  When you were a kid what did you want to be when you grew up?  Is that what you became?

4.  Which hobbit is your favorite hobbit?

5.  At a restaurant are you the person who always orders the same thing or do you try something new each time?

6.  If you had to choose between living in an underwater bubble dome or in a moon colony which would you choose?

7.  How often do you do laundry?  Are you a once a weeker, daily loader, or when I run out of clean clothes type?

8.  If you could go anywhere in the world on vacation where would it be?  Why?

9.  If you had a lightsaber what color would it be?

10.  Do you believe cake is a breakfast food?  Defend your answer.

11.  In your dystopian future which would you rather face:  zombies or vampires?  Why?

 

Here I should give you a list of curses if you do not comply with my chain mail request.  I guess I won’t though.

Responses

  1. I detest chain letters – they are manipulative, and since you mentioned the “Jesus” ones, those in particular along with the sick kid hoaxes are among the worst. As a Christian, I take serious issue with hoaxers misusing Jesus’s name and coercive language to dupe fellow Christians, and far too many of them cave in and replicate this stuff. This gives Christians a really bad reputation on the internet for chain activity.


Leave a Reply

Categories

